Week 5: Editing Audio

When editing my podcast, I used GarageBand and I found that the program was very straight forward and user friendly. The menus were easy to navigate and the tools were helpful when it came to things like splicing songs and crossfading. The only downside I found was when it came time to recording my own voice. Because I am not that experienced with sound editing, I had to make sure that the full take was perfect. I tried to cut pieces and start where I left off but the audio sounded choppy and unnatural. This is not the fault of the program but with myself and lack of experience.

On redlettermedia.com, I watched a video called F*** You, It’s January! (2017) which talked about the not so great movies to look forward to in the upcoming year. It is apparent that a green screen was used and in my opinion, successfully as the hosts were not standing behind a blank wall. The backdrop of film reels added to the quality and theme of the video. There were edited clips from trailers  of those upcoming movies and the movie posters alongside the hosts as they talked about them. The audio did not seem to change when they transitioned from movies scenes to the two hosts in front of the background. The transitions were smooth and unapparent which also added to the quality of the video.

Not only did the producers of this video add clips and scenes from other sources but they added their own animations on top of those clips to enhance their arguments such as flames and explosions. I believe that the video was made in parts, one with the two hosts in front of a green screen and second with clips from other sources but taking some of the audio from the first part and laying it over the clips. By doing this, the video flowed nicely from beginning to end.

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-6-54-12-am

1 thought on “Week 5: Editing Audio”

  1. I had a similar experience with this assignment as you did. One problem I came across was trying to properly record my voice in good quality so it sounded good mixed in with the music.

    Like

Leave a comment